Eligibility Requirements

For Torture Survivors:

  • Torture survivors and their family members affected by torture, regardless of legal status from all countries (i.e. Asylum Seekers, Asylees, Refugees, students, Immigrants, US Citizens, etc).

What is torture?

Torture Victim Rehabilitation Act (US Congress):

  • “Torture” means an act committed by a person acting under the color of law specifically intended to inflict severe physical or mental pain or suffering upon another person within his custody or physical control;

UN Convention Against Torture:

  • “Torture” means any act by which severe pain or suffering, physical or mental, is intentionally inflicted on a person for obtaining information or a confession, punishing him for an act or intimidating or coercing him, when such pain or suffering is inflicted with the consent or acquiescence of a public official or other person acting in an official capacity.

For New Refugees and Asylees:

The New Refugee Services program is designed for newly arrived refugees and their families resettling in the U.S. and Santa Clara County within the last 5 years to improve their abilities in dealing with stressors experienced in the new country such as adapting to the new culture and language, managing financial difficulties, and dealing with emotional challenges such as depression and anxiety.

Who is Eligible?

  • Refugees who have entered the United States within the last 5 years; or
  • Asylees who have been granted “Qualified Alien Status” within the last 5 years.